How I progressed from 43.3333% to 100% at TIIDELab Daily Brain Challenge CA Test.

Ayodele Samuel Adebayo (unclebay)
6 min readAug 26, 2020

--

Hey guys, you would have seen “daily test” or “Morning tea” a lot in my previous posts about my experience at TIIDELab Web Development Program but I never actually mentioned how well I was doing in them, so here is my story from failure to success.

ONE MAN ONE TEST

TIIDELab conducted a test for us during our application process which I scored 66.6666%, I failed because the pass mark was 70%, but due to some obvious reasons, the pass mark was reduced.

The Application test comprises of HTML, CSS, JAVASCRIPT and BRAIN CHALLENGE questions containing mathematics and quantitative questions, which I was obviously expecting only HTML, CSS and JAVASCRIPT questions since I am applying to a Web Development Program.

After the final selection and during our orientation program, we were made to checkout our 20 weeks time-table and behold, we found out we will be taking Morning tea every day by 9:00 am to 9:10 am with 20 questions.

Starting to get my head around books again

My first attempt result was 55%(DAY 1), I was so shocked and really sad about it, which almost allowed imposter syndrome to set in real hard, the test did not contain a single coding question, just real life brain challenges questions.

I am currently a first class student in Computer Science, but all this questions are not my things, checking images difference, calculating mathematics to figure who have certain share percentage and so on, without a particular formulae or theorem.

Took the second test, which I scored 45%(DAY 2), I almost broke my index finger after seeing the result displayed on my dell laptop, I scored 9 out of 20, “oh boi you don fail”.

Instead of been down like the previous day, I downloaded the results and saved them in a folder namely Day-1-Result, Day-2-result, I went through the questions, try to figure out the diagrams solution, got one pattern, then I proceeded online to google search for free online CTA test website, I found a few, some gives a trial which I was only chanced to answer 10 questions per account, I scored 4 out of 10 on first trial, took another one with another email, I scored 4 out of 10 again, used another email, which I scored 6 out of 10.

I celebrated the little win then rest for an hour, still thinking of the questions pattern and how funny the answers were, I proceeded to another free sites but their questions were not similar with TIIDELab CTA test questions.

I searched for diagram brain challenges and also searched for how to solve brain challenge questions, that was when I saw few related questions from my TIIDELab test questions, I was so happy, the sites also required me logging in as a member before seeing the worked answers, which I didn’t hesitate to do.

I went on to study the questions and gave personal instances but still nervous about dropping again. I woke up earlier the second day, went through those sites and my worked examples, took my bathe, settled down on my desk before 8 am, trying to calm down my nerves from the imposter syndrome.

Biggie Mr. Shams addressed us and we proceeded to have our Morning Tea, I took the test with my face closer to the screen, divided into two, one looking out for the timer and the other watching out for the number of green questions indicating my attempted questions. 10 minutes always seems like 30 seconds when the JavaScript alert dialog box shows up saying “TIME UP” and reloads to bring out the result, Hurray!!! I scored 75%(DAY 3). I celebrated the win by taking time to have a drink, my cousins were just laughing at me, but only me knows what’s-up.

Going through studies all alone

I continued the extra CTA exercise on those site and went through the questions I had missed, on the fourth day I scored 80%(DAY 4).

And by now my name had appeared on the TIIDELab First Top 10, highest scorer. I was so happy even though some names like my friend Maureen appeared more than once. but glad I made the list.

4 tests in a week, the top scorer’s names were displayed on the meeting big screen during the physical meet-up on Friday and behold Mr. Pk our co-coordinator called out our names individually to be clapped for.

The smile that dropped within me was priceless, not only because I was able to make the list, but I was able to change my state. The highest scorer was awarded with a voucher of 5 thousand Naira, no one was even expecting that, but TIIDLab has always promised to appreciate and award hard works.

The second week came, continued practicing on those sites and revising past questions, took the first test of the week which I scored 80%(DAY 5), some images of the questions didn’t load, others also complained about it though, but still I am happy, by now my name has appeared twice on the top 10.

Angry at the score

Took the second test of the week which I scored 43.333%(DAY 6), I almost broke my mouse after clicking the view result, how come, this is bad,yeah real bad,

I logged out of the my dashboard and didn’t remember been active during the class sessions throughout that day.

I went back to the sites took those test angrily which I failed excellently, I eventually, pressed my power button for 3 seconds and walked off to my room and sluggishly laid on my bed and brought out my phone then watch coding jokes for few hours, then I jumped up to google how to answer brain challenge questions again, I didn’t take another test that day.

I woke up early, took the test and scored 80%(DAY 7) , I later realized I wasn’t the only one affected with the previous day failure, it was actually caused by the platform we’re using.

I took the fourth test for the week with happiness from the news, behold I hit 100%(DAY 8), Imagine the scream and how happy I was to forget breakfast.

No winner was selected for the week brain challenge due to the system error during the week, but volunteer Fellows battled to get chosen as the winner for the week brain challenge.

WEEK 3- RESULTS

Day 1–80% — 3 images didn’t load and that’s what I missed

DAY 2–85% — 2 images didn’t load and that’s what I missed

DAY 3–90% — All images loads but got one interpretation wrong and one calculation wrong.

Day — 4 is tomorrow.

wish me luck.

Thanks for reading.

Thanks A Lot

--

--

Ayodele Samuel Adebayo (unclebay)

Frontend Web developer | Open for opportunities | JavaScript, React JS, Python, Django, MySQL| Studying Computer Science | TIIDELab Fellow